How do you use the verb “soler?”

How do you use the verb “soler?”

¡Hola a todos! Rejoice, Octavi is back!

Today I’m in charge of the blog because a student asked about a verb that is mainly used in Spain. That verb is “soler”. Did you know about it? Do you want to know how to use it? If that’s the case, go to class! No, I’m joking, let’s see how it works 🙂

Stephany from B3 asks:   How to use the verb soler. I see it in a lot of books I read, and when I look it up in word reference it says usually/normally, and that seems to be how it is used in the sentences I see it in. However, that doesn’t seem like a verb to me, so I find it confusing. Also I never see it without another verb (usually in the infinitive) so I’d just like some more insight on this, how to conjugate it, etc.  In the book I am reading now: “Solía levantarme temprano, entusiasmado… Thanks!

In the past it was used always in the imperfect tense, and it is exactly like the English “I used to, you used to, he or she used to…” etc.
For example: Cuando era niño solía jugar a tenis (when I was a kid I used to play tennis).
Another one: Mi padre solía levantarse a las 5 de la mañana (my dad used to wake up at 5 in the morning).


The difference with the English expression is that in Spanish it can also be used in the present tense, like this: Yo suelo tomar una cerveza después del trabajo (I usually drink a beer after work).
Another example: Nosotros solemos caminar por el parque (we normally walk in the park).


As you can see, in the present tense it is similar to saying normally or usually + the verb.
This is how we conjugate it:
Present tense: yo suelo, tú sueles, él/ella suele, nosotros solemos, ellos/ellas suelen
Imperfect tense: yo solía, tú solías, él/ella solía, nosotros solíamos, ellos/ellas solían.

I hope you understood how we use this verb. Again, it is mainly used in Spain and seems to be a verb only older people use nowadays in Latin America. Bear that in mind 🙂 Have a good weekend and ¡Hasta la próxima!


Octavi

Have a question you would like answered in the blog?  Question for the Blog

