2/3/17 – Translators suck!

2/3/17 – Translators suck!

¡Hola chicos!  Feliz viernes 🙂

Today’s topic is translators.  Have you ever used a translator and ended up saying something completely insane?  Translators are machines that translate words, not meaning, therefore more often than not you end up saying something incomprehensible or just horribly wrong.  If I had to guess I would say that a 50%-70% of Spanish is not a direct translation from English.  The odds of actually saying something correctly when using a translator are quite slim.  

So what do you do when you don’t know how to say something?
I would recommend using a dictionary – or –  a translator operated by actual human beings.
My favorite dictionary is: http://www.wordreference.com/
My favorite human translated translator is: http://www.linguee.com/english-spanish

So when do you use a translator?  I would say never when you’re trying to learn a language.  Translators are great if you’re traveling abroad and it’s an urgent communication situation.  They may also be helpful when you’re translating to a language that is completely different from yours, where you can’t even begin to guess how to say something, like say Arabic or Mandarin.  But for Spanish, there is no need.  It may take a little longer, but it’s worth it 🙂

Besitos,
Caro

PS  I even tried using one from Spanish to Italian, thinking that because they’re romance languages that it would be a better translation.  Nope.  My Italian teacher understands much better when I use a dictionary and my instincts than when I used a translator.  

