PBO’s Spanish Tip of the Week (10/3-10/9/16)

PBO’s Spanish Tip of the Week (10/3-10/9/16)

Hola chicos,

Today’s tip is about a few questions/points that have come up with the subjunctive this week. Here they are:

 

  • Remember that if there are 2 clauses in a sentence, you would only use the subjunctive if the subject is different in each clause. If I hope for something for myself (same subject) it is not subjunctive. If I hope for something for someone else (different subjects), the subjunctive is used.

 

  • What does Ojalá mean? So this is a tricky question because it means a few things.

            Present Subjunctive: I hope / hopefully – Ojalá me llame mañana / I hope he calls me tomorrow.

            Present Perfect Subjunctive: Hopefully – Ojalá haya llamado a su mamá para su cumpleaños /  Hopefully he called his mom for her birthday.

            Imperfect Subjunctive: I wish (present/future) – Ojalá fuera así. / I wish it were like that.

            Past Perfect Subjunctive – I wish (past) – Ojalá hubiera estado allí. / I wish I had been there.

 

  • How do I know which of the 4 subjunctive tense to use?

First you need to know what the tense in the other clause is.

The Present & Present Perfect Subjunctive are used in combination with other present & future tenses.

The Imperfect & Past Perfect Subjunctive are used in combination with other past & conditional tenses.

The Present & Imperfect subjunctive are used to talk about things are going on   simultaneously or in the future.

The Present Perfect & Past Perfect Subjunctive are used to talk about things that may   or may not have already happened (in the past).

 

Ok chicos, wrap your brain around that and let me know if you have any questions!

 

Que tengan un buen fin de semana,

Caro

 

