Pura Buena Onda’s Spanish Tip of the week – 7/11 to 7/17/16

Pura Buena Onda’s Spanish Tip of the week – 7/11 to 7/17/16

¡Hola a todo el mundo!

Do you want more of Octavi? Yes, right? Well, here I am! 

Do you know how old I am? Yo tengo 36 años, I am 36 years old.

Now, how many of you read the sentence in Spanish but, in their mind, read the number 36 in English? This is something I’ve talked about in a couple of my classes, but I’d like to say it here once more for everyone else.

When we are reading in Spanish, sometimes we see numbers, dates or years too, and many just read those numbers in English in their mind. I know it’s fast and convenient, but it won’t help you to learn Spanish, so we should not do that. Even when we read for ourselves, it is good practice to try to read all those numbers in Spanish. If you’re still not familiar with the Spanish numbers, here’s a link for you: http://www.spanish.cl/Vocabulary/Notes/Numeros.htm

Remember that we don’t read the years like in English. For example, I was born in 1980, and in English we can say nineteen eighty; but that’s not correct in Spanish. How do we read that year? “mil novecientos ochenta” (a thousand nine hundred and eighty). Besides, even though we might see dates written in the American format, like 7/12/16, when reading in Spanish we should keep in mind that the right order is “doce de julio de dos mil dieciséis”; with the day first and the month after it.

Ok, this is all for this week. See you again soon! And remember, how old am I? What’s the date today? (in Spanish!!! :))

