Pura Buena Onda’s Spanish Tip of the Week (6/20 – 6/26/16)

Pura Buena Onda’s Spanish Tip of the Week (6/20 – 6/26/16)

Every week when I sit down to write the blog, I find inspiration in conversations I’ve had with students that week. Sometimes it’s something that they’re struggling with and sometimes it’s something that’s working for them.

This week, when I read Stephany’s note about her Spanish routine, I was inspired. Because I could not possibly have written it any better, the tip is directly from her this week (she doesn’t actually know that!).
Stephany has only been at PBO for a little over a year and has already moved up 4 levels. She started in A1 last spring and is now in B2. This is highly unusual…but if you read about her routine, you will understand why! Thank you Stephany for a very inspiring read ☺

I do a variety of things to practice my Spanish daily, but I think the most important thing for me has been to make Spanish an important part of my life instead of a chore or an afterthought. I attend classes at PBO every week, or twice a week when I can manage it. I listen to audiobooks, podcasts, and music in Spanish more so than I do in English. I read books in Spanish more than I do in English. When I practice the guitar and sing, I do it in Spanish. If possible, I write in Spanish, and if I watch TV I try to do so in Spanish or in English with Spanish subtitles. Most importantly, I have finally gotten comfortable enough to speak Spanish any opportunity I get outside of class. And I try to do most of these things every single day. I attempt to immerse myself in the language as much as I can with my busy schedule by doing all the things I would normally do, just in Spanish. Since I don’t spend as much time as I probably should actually studying grammar, I make it a point to take the time to at least pay close attention to grammar when I read and also to do all of the homework from PBO and take notes in class.

Thank you Stephany! You rock chica! Qué orgullo ☺

Besos,
Caro

