Pura Buena Onda’s Spanish Tip of the Week: 4/11 – 4/17/16

Pura Buena Onda’s Spanish Tip of the Week: 4/11 – 4/17/16

Chicos,
We have a special treat for you 🙂 I have asked Octavi to write the blog post this week. For those of you that do not know, Octavi speaks 7 languages (Catalan, Spanish, English, French, Italian, Japanese & Korean). I would say that someone with that experience definitely has something valuable to share! Without further ado, here is Octavi:

Hello everyone!

I’m Octavi, one of the teachers at PBO. Since I’ve learned several languages in my life, a lot of people ask me for advice on how to learn Spanish faster or improve their skills, so I’m going to share some things that have worked for me so far. They might or might not work for you but, let’s try and see, right? Today’s tip is the following:

– Choose a book in Spanish. Don’t pick something too complicated or too easy! Just a book that matches your skills. You don’t have to understand every single word or expression; if you can follow the story, it’s the right level for you. Every time you read the book, look up the meaning of 2 or 3 words or expressions. Don’t just choose the first word you don’t know, wait and search for a word that is repeated several times along the book or an expression that you are curious about. After you’ve chosen the word, write it down in the last page of the book (those are usually blank) with the meaning in English. From now on, whenever you read the book, remember to first check all the words on the last page of the book, even as the list get’s longer. This has helped me to remember words and expressions better.

Stay tuned for more tips from me!
¡Gracias Octavi!

Besos,
Caro

