Pura Buena Onda’s Spanish Tip of the Week (1/18 – 1/24/16)

Pura Buena Onda’s Spanish Tip of the Week (1/18 – 1/24/16)

 

This week I would like to address a few common errors that students often make. These are errors that could make you blush!

Never confuse…

1 – mierda and miedo – If you tell me “tengo mierda” – I hear “I have shit” – but if you say “tengo miedo” – I understand that you’re scared 🙂

2 – estoy caliente and tengo calor – several students told me this week that they were horny, when I think they meant to tell me that they were hot (as in body temperature) – so if you’re hot, you can say “tengo calor” 🙂

3 – embarazada and avergonzada – “estar embarazada” is to be pregnant – a false cognate to the English “embarrassed.” “Tengo vergüenza” or “estoy avergonzado” actually mean “I’m embarrassed” 🙂

 

Bueno chicos, that is it for this week! See you next week with another tip…

 

Besos,

Caro

