Weekly Tip: Bring Spanish into your day to day life!

Weekly Tip: Bring Spanish into your day to day life!

One of the easiest, most efficient ways to improve your Spanish is by bringing it into your day to day life. Apart from that, it’s the only way to become fluent (studying is not enough – to reach fluidity, the target language needs to be a part of your daily life).

 

Don’t know how? Follow these easy steps:

1 – Make a list of 10 things you do every week

2 – Figure out a way to bring Spanish into at least 3 of those activities

3 – Stick to it!

 
 
For example, part of my list could be:

1 – Take Lola to the park

2 – Clean the house

3 – Go to the grocery store

4 – Cook

5 – Talk to friends & family on the phone

You get the picture…

 

Now I need to see how to bring Spanish to those activities. Here are a few ideas:

1 – Take Lola to the park – There are many Spanish speakers at the park. I could ask them if it’s ok if we speak in Spanish or just start speaking Spanish to them if I hear them using it. I could also talk to Lola in Spanish 🙂

2 – Clean the house – I can listen to music or a podcast in Spanish while I clean.

3 – Go to the grocery store – I could use the self-checkout in Spanish, read the many labels on products that are in Spanish or listen to something in the car on the drive over and back, in Spanish. I could also make my grocery list in Spanish.

4 – Cook – I could watch telenovelas while I cook or even cook something out of a recipe book in Spanish.

5 – Talk to friends & family on the phone – I speak to the majority of my family in Spanish all the time, but I have a few cousins that live in the US that naturally gravitate towards English. I can let them speak English if they want to, but I can make the effort to speak Spanish.

 

So how are you going to bring more Spanish into your life?

 

Besos,

Caro

