Weekly Tip: Turn the negative into the positive

Weekly Tip: Turn the negative into the positive

Negative self-talk is one of the most destructive things in the world. We all know this, yet we do it anyway.

When it comes to learning a language, if you continuously say things like…

  • I’m never going to learn how to use the Spanish subjunctive!
  • I can’t get my words out!
  • My Spanish grammar is horrible!
  • I don’t understand a word of what other people say in Spanish!
  • My Spanish is never going to get any better!

…you really aren’t going improve.

So how do we turn this around? Perhaps you could say:

  • The Spanish subjunctive is challenging, but I am capable of learning it with time & effort.
  • I struggle with speaking Spanish, but I’m working on it and if I’m patient, I will get the results I am looking for.
  • My Spanish grammar skills are not as good as my xxx skills, but with some work, I can catch up.
  • It’s a challenge to understand when others speak Spanish, so I’m going to pay special attention to this so that I can get better.
  • I’m learning something new every day, therefore I am making progress.

If you believe that you can’t learn something or that you suck at something, you are absolutely right. Learning a language is a long process and you need to believe that you can do it, to be able to stay motivated for years to come. So next time you catch yourself saying how much you suck at something, change the words around to make it a positive comment rather than a negative one 🙂

Your therapist and Spanish teacher (lol),

Caro

