Weekly Tip – 3/27/15

Weekly Tip: The amount of time you put into your Spanish directly affects the amount of time it will take you to get to the next level!

Students often tell me that they’re frustrated with their progress. There are so many potential factors, that I’m going to dedicate the next few blogs to helping you get unstuck.

The first few questions you need to ask yourself are:

Am I consistently working on my Spanish?

Am I dedicating a minimum of 15 minutes per day, 5x a week?

Am I making coming to class a priority?

Am I making up classes that I miss?

Am I setting aside time to do the optional homework?

Am I taking advantage of everything PBO offers, like Facebook conversations, social club events and the Buddy/Mentor program (and maybe even the unlimited class package if you have a flexible schedule)?

I’ve said many times that learning a language is like working out. If you work out once a week, that is awesome, but, if your goal is to lose 50 lbs., it will take you years if you only go to the gym once a week. The same goes for Spanish. If you come to class once a week and that is all you do, you absolutely will learn…but it will take you much longer than you would like to move up to the next level, which seems to be very important for many students.

Now that you know this, sit down and answer all the above questions. Be honest with yourself. And if you know that you can only dedicate 90 minutes a week (one class), acceptance will be key. If that is the case, you will need to accept that moving up a level every year, year and a half, is probably not going to be the case. And that’s ok…as long as you understand that it will affect the amount of time it takes you to move up.  Progress in language learning is measured by consistent hours put in, not in months or years. This means that if you’re only putting in 90 minutes a week, it will take you a minimum of 10 years to get to an advanced level. Now if you’re putting in 3 hours a week, you could cut that down to half.

Answer the questions, think about it and decide what will work for you…

Besitos,

Caro

