Dichos y expresiones

Dichos y expresiones

• Polos opuestos – Total opposites
• Más vale tarde que nunca – Better late than never
• Ponerse al día – To catch up
• Darse por vencido – To give up
• ¿En serio? – Really?
• ¿De qué se trata? – What is it about?
• Llevar a cabo – To carry out, to fulfill
• Echar la casa por la ventana – To go all out
• Salirse con la suya – To get his/her way
• A pesar de – In spite of
• Te/le toca – It’s your turn
• Ponerse las pilas – To gear up, to get started, to get moving on something
• Armar un escándalo – To cause a big scene
• Por si las moscas – Just in case
• Al pie de la letra – Exactly as instructed, to the letter
• No soporto xxx – I can’t stand xxx
• Me parte el alma – It breaks my heart
• Ojalá – I wish or hopefully
• En cambio – On the other hand
• Dar mala espina – To have a bad feeling
• Se me antoja – I’m in the mood for / ¿Se te antoja xxx? Are you in the mood for xxx?
• Echar a perder – to ruin, to spoil (food)
• Menos mal – Thank goodness
• Se me pasó la mano – I overdid it / Se te pasó la mano – You overdid it

