Weekly Tip – 11/13/14

Weekly Tip:

Requested tip from a student:

Provide examples of a study plan for a week that you can do on your own. no matter your level.

 

Response from Caro:

To be honest with you, I don’t know that I can make a recommendation that would work for everyone. I just don’t think that’s possible.

For example, I think that DuoLingo is fantastic, but I really wouldn’t recommend it for any students in the advanced or bilingual levels. I also think that the podcasts on radioambulante.org are fantastic, but I wouldn’t suggest it to anyone below a mid intermediate level. So that’s a tough question to answer.

What I can say is that I recommend to every student that they work on their Spanish for a minimum of 15 minutes per day, every, single day.

I can also recommend to each student that they work on their Spanish in ways that they find appealing or satisfying. If you hate your verb conjugations book or practicing with your boyfriend, you’re not going to want to do it.

The other recommendation that I have for everyone is to have a list of different things that you can do, so that you don’t get bored. When you’re about to work on your Spanish, get the list out and see what jumps out at you that day. And decide that you’re going to commit 15 minutes to doing something from your list every day.

For example:

DuoLingo – soap operas – grammar book – studyspanish.com – movies on Netflix – Conversación del día on Facebook – reading a book/magazine – chatting with a friend who speaks Spanish – journaling in Spanish – doing the optional homework, an article in a newspaper, a Spanish learning CD, Destinos: An Introduction to Spanish, etc.

If you have a list of 10-20 things that you can do, you’re bound to find one that appeals to you every day 🙂

I hope that helps!

Besos,

Caro

